PhD Diaries – Fate in the Hands of Others

Tomorrow I find out whether I have been confirmed as a candidate. I have worked incredibly hard over the past year and now, I’m thinking how it could all be taken away. What scares me is I tried so hard and I’ve come so far that if the rug is ripped from beneath me, I will not get back up for a long time. As hard as I try to listen to the positive voice in my head, the negative comes. Sadness is overwhelming me and I am anticipating the absolute worst. I think that’s because I don’t want to be disappointed. Either way, I just want tomorrow to pass. For the last two weeks I have been down, I now realise it was anticipatory anxiety. It’s time to remember that some things aren’t in our control and whatever happens, a number of opportunities will present themselves. I’ll end this post with a quote:

We are just an advanced breed of monkeys on a minor planet of a very average star. But we can understand the Universe. That makes us something very special.

Stephen Hawking

No matter what we face, we are all special, because life found a way to survive and adapt. Whatever is thrown at us we can adapt and evolve. Thanks for reading!

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started